AASG 2020 Mankin Award for GeoMap 25

The 2020 Mankin recipient is the Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) for their publication: “The Geologic Map of Offshore Delaware” by C. Robin Mattheus, Kelvin W. Ramsey and Jamie L. Tomlinson. This map represents several decades of data collection and exemplary interpretive efforts on the part of the authors.

The geologic map helps DGS and all other local, regional and national organizations assess offshore sand and gravel resources. The map provides valuable information for those scientists, engineers, coastal communities, and emergency planners to use when planning for, or mitigating sea-level rise. In addition, the map is an extremely valuable resource for evaluating the impacts of natural hazards such as hurricanes and storms on coastal beach erosion, and the evaluation of subsurface conditions for offshore infrastructure projects, so important to the changes that occur after major natural hazards.

The Charles J. Mankin Award is an annual AASG (Association of American State Geologists) award given each year to a nominated geological map, compilation, or report on regional, energy, or mineral resource geology published in the current year or one of the three preceding calendar years by a state geological survey.

This award honors the memory of Charles Mankin (1932-2012), who as Director of the Oklahoma Geological Survey for forty years (1967-2007) was a tireless advocate for geologic mapping. Charlie played a key role in establishing the National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program administered through the U.S. Geological Survey that provides crucial funding to the state geological surveys for geologic mapping.


For questions and information, contact DGS at
delgeosurvey@udel.edu, 302-831-2833

This page tagged with: